Doughnuts

on

I’ve eaten vegan gluten-free yeast-free doughnuts at places like Cookies and Scream and Ruby’s of London, but I’d never tried making them. I finally decided to buy a doughnut pan last Friday as I’d looked at recipes all over the internet but hadn’t found a recipe that only used ingredients I commonly have around the house, so wanted to try for myself.

The first batch I made was rubbish. I realised that despite having read a lot of recipes, I don’t recall ever having read what consistency doughnut batter is actually meant to be and having never seen doughnuts being made before, I didn’t have a clue (definitely a note to self when writing up recipes to mention consistency!). The first batch was way too dry and didn’t rise properly so they were too dense and chewy.

After getting the idea that the batter should be a lot wetter, the second batch went a whole lot better, so I finished them off by dipping them in some raspberry jam I melted down with a little bit of water and rolled them in cinnamon sugar and they did turn out better than I had hoped, see the pictures below! The only problem with the doughnuts is that they do need to be eaten on the day they’re made as they seemed to have soaked all the sugar into themselves by the next day and become a bit soggy and dense, but I suppose that’s a general doughnut issue.

My doughnut recipe isn’t reliable enough to post quite yet, but I’ll definitely do some more doughnut experiments this coming weekend and hopefully it’ll be ready to post then!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Look forward to the recipe 😊 they look very professional.

    Like

    1. Thank you, bit of a miracle really! 🙂

      Like

  2. It’s nice to see your journey as you perfect a recipe. I wish you luck in the next phase.

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge, a monthly blog link up just for new food adventures, especially the areas where we are learning and growing. It’s a fun way to share your new food experiences with other foodies. This month’s theme is ALLERGY FRIENDLY RECIPES (including gluten free, dairy free).

    More info here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

    Like

    1. Laura says:

      Had a look at your site and it looks really interesting, will definitely think about a post for future!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

