RECIPE: Curried cauliflower steaks with lentils

I haven’t been too sure about posting dinner recipes, because I have a tendency to just randomly shake spices in and just use whatever is in the fridge. I do have a go-to curry spice base though and I’m a big fan of cauliflower ‘steaks’, so I thought I’d actually post this meal. I’ve made this before without the kohlrabi, but as kohlrabi is my new favourite vegetable, if you can get it, it’s well worth using as it’s just so nice! Don’t let the relatively long spice list put you off, if you don’t have all of them, I’m sure it’s not the end of the world, but this is actually the curry blend I use for all curries, veg or otherwise. This dinner is relatively quick, very healthy and only uses 2 pans, so good all round.

Ingredients – This was to serve 2

1 whole cauliflower

1 kohlrabi

100g split red lentils

400g can chickpeas (the standard can)

Bag of fresh spinach

190g passata

500ml vegetable stock (made up to instructions – I use the Marigold stock mentioned in my shopping list page)

Curry powder, I use Schwartz medium – 1.5 tbsp for the curry mix and about 1.5tbsp for the cauliflower

Grated fresh ginger, 1 tsp

Turmeric, ¼ tsp

Cloves, 4

Cinnamon, 1 tsp

Cardamom pods, 4

Coriander, 1 tsp

Cumin, 1 tsp

Mild chilli powder, 1tsp

Paprika hot, 1 tsp

Paprika smoked, 1 tsp

 

Method:

  • I like to start by mixing all my spices together in a little bowl, just so I don’t have to run around finding them when I’m cooking.
  • Heat the oven to 195C, 180C Fan (I use fan)
  • Get rid of all the outside leaves from the cauliflower, then with the bottom facing upwards, cut into about 4 thick slices (the outer slices may fall apart a little bit, but it doesn’t matter).
  • Peel the kohlrabi, then I cut mine into about 6 slices, then cut those slices in half.
  • Mix about 1.5 tbsp of curry powder in a bowl, with a bit of olive oil to make a paste and coat the cauliflower and kohlrabi – the kohlrabi can just be tossed around in the bowl, but the cauliflower is a lot more delicate, so I try and spoon it on, then put some on the baking tray that I’m going to cook on and try and rub it around a bit.
  • Lay the cauliflower and kohlrabi on a baking tray, this will go in the oven for about 35 minutes (put the timer on, as I base the timings for the curry on the veg). Turn over after 20 minutes.P1010987
  • When the veg has been roasting for about 5 minutes,  in a deep frying pan (I used a wok), heat some oil on medium – I don’t eat onion or garlic because of IBS, but if you would like to use onion, add the onion for about 5 minutes until soft.
  • Add the spices you mixed in a small bowl earlier, along with the grated ginger (garlic also, if using) and stir around for about a minute.P1010990
  • Pour in the passata and vegetable stock, season with black pepper.
  • Add the lentils and stir (there should be at least 25 mins left on the clock at this point).
  • Put the lid on and simmer.
  • When there is about 10 minutes left on the timer, put in the chickpeas, stir around (if you’ve forgotten to turn the veg in the oven, turn now!)
  • With about 5 minutes to go, add in the whole bag of spinach, stir and try to coat in the curry so it wilts better.
  • Take out the cardamom pods and cloves if you can see them – it’s not actually that pleasant eating then!
  • Serve up.P1010992
4 Comments Add yours

    1. Laura says:

      Thanks! 🙂

      Like

  1. This looks great! Thank you so much for posting. 🙂

    Like

    1. Laura says:

      Thanks, I hope you get a chance to make it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

