RECIPE: Mini strawberry pies

I’ve made ‘proper’ pies before with pastry and the rest of it, but that takes time and a bit of forward planning. The pies that I like at Cookies and Scream bakery in Camden don’t have pastry crusts, so I thought I’d try a cookie style crust which seems like what theirs is.

This is a minimal effort sort of pie. It has an oat cookie crust which takes 5 minutes to put together and then all you have to do is press it into the holes of a muffin try and bake for about 15 minutes like a normal cookie. The filling is basically the same as the filling I use for cobbler, but with a bit of heating in a pan – this fruit filling recipe seems extremely versatile so I’m going to make some more of this filling this weekend and have it with buckwheat pancakes. As it’s strawberry season this was my first choice of filling; but like the cobbler I reckon any fruit would work, drier fruit like apples would probably just require a bit more liquid or a bit less corn flour as they don’t release so much juice. Because they’re all individual servings they also come out looking very cute. Sorry for the lack of pictures, I wasn’t really expecting this recipe to work as well as it did, so I didn’t bother taking photos of all the steps! Given that my partner said these are one of the best things I’ve baked yet, I’ll definitely make them again soon and will add some more photos.


Makes 8 little pies

Ingredients

Cookie base

75g plain flour (I use Dove’s Farm)

100g gf oats

75g sugar ( I used a mix of soft brown sugar and demerera)

65g butter ( I used Stork block)

1 tbsp milk (I used oat)

1 tbsp golden syrup

Strawberry filling

200g strawberries

Juice of 1/2 lemon

3 tsp corn flour

35g caster sugar (you can adjust to taste)

Method

  • Heat the oven to 180C, 160C fan (mine’s fan)
  • Put the milk, butter and golden syrup in a little pan and heat on low until it’s all melted and combined.
  • Put the sugar and oats in a medium bowl, stir around. Sieve the flour on top and stir in.
  • Pour the melted mixture into the bowl and stir until combined.
  • Cut little strips of greaseproof paper and put one in each muffin hole so it’s sticking up on either side – this will act like a little sling for your cases, so you just pick up the cases using either end of the paper strip.P1020161
  • Push some mixture into each hole on top of the paper strip, press so it thinly covers all the way around the bases and sides.
  • Repeat for all 8 holes.P1030011
  • Bake for 12-15 mins, until lightly browned – they do puff up a bit, but as long as you’ve pressed in the mixture relatively thinly, there should be plenty of space for filling. I have considered putting baking beans in when I cook them, but haven’t tried this yet.
  • Once they’re relatively cool, I put them in the fridge to make sure they’re firm when the mix goes in.
  • Finely chop the strawberries into little bits, but reserve about 4 strawberries to decorate the pies at the end.
  • Mix the lemon juice, corn flour, sugar and strawberries in a small pan.
  • Heat on low and stir.
  • After a few minutes the mixture should start thickening up.
  • Keep stirring for about 8 mins and the miture should be nice and thick.
  • Take off the heat and leave to cool for a few minutes.
  • Chop up the 4 reserved strawberries – some I did in quarters, some I did as quarters then cut the quarters in half.
  • Spoon the strawberry filling into the pie cases, decorate with strawberry quarters/eighths and put in the fridge to fully set.

P1020144

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Amazing recipe!! Absolutely love it 🙂 Would you like to learn how to do austrian apple pie? If yes, you should definitely check out this recipe https://marylovescoffee.wordpress.com/2015/12/02/apfelstrudel-recipe/

    Like

    1. Laura says:

      Oh your recipe looks lovely! Will have to think about how to make it gluten and dairy-free then I’ll definitely give it a go.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. gloasdfghjkl says:

    It looks adorable and yummy ^^

    Like

  3. This looks awesome. I’m so excited to try it! Thank you! 😀

    Like

    1. Laura says:

      Thanks! Have you had a chance to give it a go?

      Like

Leave a Reply

