RECIPE: Lemon mousse

I’ve made a lot of hot puddings recently, but since we’re in ‘summer’ (or what passes for it in England) I thought I’d do something cold for a change. I thought of lemon mousse as we both like lemon and it’s a bit more refreshing than chocolate – but strangely enough when I had a Google for some ideas, I couldn’t actually find a single vegan lemon mousse that didn’t involve coconut milk which really surprised me (or perhaps my Google skills aren’t up to scratch) and made me even keener to try and create something new. This recipe uses aquafaba as I’m yet to find anything else that can get quite as fluffy and light as aquafaba can. The result is an extremely light, fluffy mousse; the only thing is that when I put it in the fridge for a few hours, it started to separate a bit, so I think the key is to chill down the two constituent parts a bit, then fold together before serving (or you could just whip it up a bit with a little cake fork before serving, or even better, just eat it straight away so there’s no problem!).


Ingredients – makes 4 glasses

40ml lemon juice (juice of 1 lemon)

3.5 tsp corn flour

30g caster sugar

Zest of 1 lemon

Aquafaba from 1 can of chickpeas – I started with 170ml but boiled it down to 100ml

60ml agave nectar

1 block tofu (I used my usual Clearspring silken and smooth tofu)

70g lemon yogurt (I used sojade, I think the bioliveness helps to keep things airy)

40ml lemon juice (juice of 1 lemon)

Lemon zest to grate on top for decoration

Optional – 40ml soya single cream & 10g icing sugar

Method

  • Mix the juice of 1 lemon, corn flour, zest of 1 lemon and caster sugar together in a little pan. Heat on low until it starts to thicken up a bit (5 mins or so).
  • Take off the heat and leave to cool (it’ll thicken up more as it cools)
  • Reduce your aquafaba down if required (it should be the texture of egg whites, so I reduced mine from 170ml to 100ml, which took about 4 mins of boiling).
  • Take off the heat and leave to cool.
  • Weight down the block of tofu between two wads of kitchen roll to draw out the liquid.
  • Put the tofu, agave, juice of 1 lemon and lemon yogurt into a blender and blitz.
  • When the lemon-corn flour mixture is cool, pour into the blender and blitz again.
  • In a medium bowl, start whisking the aquafaba (once it’s back to room temp).
  • Whisk until it’s between soft and stiff peaks.P1020829
  • If you’re not planning on serving straight away, chill down the two components separately to avoid any separation (apparently separation is down to low fat content, so no bad thing). If you do choose to fold the two components together ahead and it separates, it still tastes great, there’s just a waterier layer at the bottom.
  • When you want to serve, give the tofu mixture a quick blitz again, then slowly pour the mixture in the blender into the aquafaba mixture a little bit at a time – lightly fold each time until it’s all mixed together.
  • Spoon gently into 4 glasses.
  • I also whipped up some soya single cream (says not whippable on the packet, but oh well) until it was fluffy (but as the packet says, it does not go stiff).
  • Whip in the icing sugar and it makes a slightly sweet fluffy cream mixture which I think is really nice.
  • Top each glass with the cream mixture, grate some lemon zest on top and serve.P1020848
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

