RECIPE: Lemon, courgette & poppyseed loaf cake

I haven’t posted in a while because while I’ve been doing a fair bit of cooking (best thing about days I get to work from home), I’m trying to avoid doing too much baking as we’re getting married in September and I’m probably the main source of snack foods. I couldn’t help myself when I had a new idea to try though. You may have noticed that I get a bit of an ingredient fixation every once in a while and my current go-to ingredient is courgette – I blame all the local cafes who are making courgette cakes this summer, but never gluten, dairy or egg free. As I’ve said before, courgettes are way better than carrots because they’re so much easier to grate (though I’m getting a food processor for a wedding gift, so I may change my mind then) and its light flavour is such a good partner for other flavours. I made the chocolate courgette cake recently, but lemon seems far more summery and poppy seeds add some great texture and loafs don’t really require any extra icing. I had some leftover soya natural yogurt after making a chicken marinade and it seemed like the sort of thing I could use in a courgette lemon cake as it can make the colour quite pale but that’s fine for lemon. I was pleased with this recipe given that I winged it and it’s always satisfying to use up leftover ingredients that might otherwise go to waste.


Ingredients

240g self-raising flour (I used Dove’s Farm)

½ tsp bicarbonate soda

1 tsp baking powder

Pinch of salt

140ml natural yogurt (I used Sojade)

150g sugar (I used half and half caster and soft brown)

70ml oil (I used rapeseed)

2 small-medium courgettes – about 325g before they are topped and tailed

Zest of 1 lemon

Juice of ½ lemon

7g poppyseeds

 

Method

  • Heat the oven to 180C, 160C fan (I use fan)
  • Prep the courgette – wash, dry and cut off the ends and grate. Set aside.
  • Put sugar and oil in a large mixing bowl and stir until smooth.P1030151
  • Add the yogurt in and mix.
  • Sieve in the flour, bicarb and baking powder, fold in.
  • Add the pinch of salt, courgette, lemon zest, poppyseeds and lemon juice. Stir until well mixed.P1030152
  • Pour the mixture into a lined 2lb loaf tin and distribute evenly.
  • Bake in the centre of the oven for 55-60 minutes. If you stick a skewer in the centre of the cake it should come out clean. I put a piece of foil over the top of my cake after about 35 minutes as it was browning relatively quickly.P1030162P1030166P1030170
4 Comments Add yours

  1. Charisma says:

    That looks like such a lovely texture

    Like

  2. Delicious combination of flavours 😊

    Like

  3. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been scouting around for this!
    Thank heavens I found it. You have made my day!
    Thanks once more.

    Like

    1. Laura says:

      I’m so glad you like it! I hope it turns out well for you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

