RECIPE: Chocolate orange cake bars

on

This recipe is inspired by all the times I’ve taken cake to work and by the time I’ve arrived, it’s more of a cake wad. I wanted to make a cake that wasn’t crumbly and could take a little bit of bashing about in my work bag in order to make it to work in something that resembled cake form. This got me thinking about using aquafaba in a cake – when I made my doughnuts with aquafaba it gave them a bit of ‘chew’, so I thought having a similar outcome in a cake might mean the whole thing stays together a bit better. And luckily enough, it did! I gave some to my younger brother to take to work and my husband took some to work and they seem to have all survived. Though apparently they do sweat a little bit if tightly clingfilmed for a day or two, so maybe don’t do that… Can be eaten plain, or if you’re planning to eat it at home, some chocolate buttercream or ganache would go nicely on top.

Anyway, here’s a chocolate orange flavoured cake bar which will hopefully survive the commute!


Recipe

Makes a 9×9 inch pan. Cuts into approx. 12 big pieces.

Keeps reasonably well – I left mine in the pan, clingfilmed the cut edges and put some foil over the top.

Ingredients

Wet ingredients

160g plain dairy-free yogurt (I use Sojade)

1 tsp vanilla paste

20g golden syrup

160g soft light brown sugar

Zest of 1 orange

50ml orange juice (about half an orange)

3 tbsp aquafaba (this is the water from a can of chickpeas, I boil mine down for about 5 mins then let it cool, this makes the texture more like egg white)

Dry ingredients

1 tsp baking powder

150g gluten-free plain flour (I use Dove’s Farm)

50g gluten-free buckwheat flour (not strictly necessary, you could just use all plain)

Pinch of salt

150g chocolate chips or bar cut up into smallish chunks

Method

  • Line a 9×9 square tin with greaseproof paper
  • Pre-heat the oven to 180C, 160C fan (I use fan)
  • Mix the wet ingredients together in a large bowl
  • Sieve in the dry ingredients (apart from the chocolate!)
  • Fold together until the mixture is smooth with no flour lumps
  • Fold in the chocolate
  • Spoon into the tin and spread flat
  • Bake for 25-30 minutes until golden
  • Leave to cool in the tin

 

 

Leave a Reply

