RECIPE: Banana chocolate chip loaf

This isn’t quite the pumpkin recipe I promised, but with work I’ve only had time to do my pumpkin recipes a couple of times, so I don’t feel that reassured that they’re fool-proof. This recipe is however! I decided to post it today because a piece of the cake I made the middle of last week spent the weekend in my husband’s work bag wrapped in clingfilm and apparently it was still great today… that’s what you need from a cake!

There’s nothing massively ground-breaking about it, it’s not that different from a load of others on the internet, but it is extremely nice and like many of my other favourite recipes, you don’t have to be too exact for it to work.


Recipe

2lb loaf

Keeps well wrapped up in baking paper and foil (or clingfilm in your bag).

Ingredients

180g plain flour (I use Dove’s Farm)

40g buckwheat flour

2 heaped tsp baking powder

65g soft light brown sugar

2.5 tsp cinnamon

4 medium spotted/black bananas, mashed

1 tbsp dairy-free milk

75g vegetable oil (I use rapeseed)

75g chopped dark chocolate

Demerera sugar and cinnamon for sprinkling on top

Method

  • Pre-heat oven to 200C, 180C fan (my oven’s fan)
  • Mash the peeled bananas with a fork. Mix well with the milk, oil and sugar.
  • Sift in the flours, baking powder and cinnamon, and mix together.
  • Fold in the chocolate.
  • Pour into a 2lb loaf tin, smooth flat and sprinkle over a tsp of demerera sugar and a pinch of cinnamon.
  • Bake for between 50-55 minutes.
  • This loaf has a habit of browning quite a lot, so I usually cover it in foil after about 15 minutes (this has to be done quickly to avoid any cake sinkage).
  • Leave to cool in the tin. I then wrap it up in baking paper and foil and it seems to keep very well!p1020869p1020864
2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

