RECIPE: Spiced sweet potato waffles

on

I bought a new waffle iron which I’m very excited about. 2 weeks ago I was trying to create a sweet potato waffle recipe and I managed to make the best waffles I’ve ever made, they tasted great and they didn’t stick to my waffle iron at all. I tried to recreate it the following week and they kept sticking to the iron! I played around with the recipe adding more liquid, using less flour, adding more oil and so on and they just kept sticking and by the end, I was sick of eating dodgy waffle castoffs and scraping away at the iron plate. In the end I decided it was the waffle irons fault not mine and bought a new one. Turns out, it really was the waffle irons fault because my new one worked perfectly today! I got a 4 waffle iron so I can actually eat at the same time as my husband now and it has a temperature gauge which seemed handy to help make sure they were cooked on the inside as well as the outside and then I could crank the heat up if the outside needed further crisping. I bought this one in case you’re interested and so far I would recommend it. I’ve put some notes at the bottom about how I cooked the waffles, but all waffle irons are different. These waffles didn’t stick whatsoever, so if you’re having a problem, perhaps your waffle iron could be the problem like mine was!


Ingredients

Makes 6 regular sized square waffles

Note all the main measurements are in grams – I realised that my measuring jug and scales were bringing out ml measurements differently, so I’ve ditched volume as a gram is always a gram!

215g coconut milk, room temperature (carton, not can)

10g apple cider vinegar

28g coconut oil, melted (ping in the microwave in a little microwavable bowl for 15 seconds or so)

130g plain gluten-free flour

½ tbsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ginger

¼ tsp nutmeg

40g gluten-free oats

1 tbsp ground flaxseed

Pinch of salt

80g sweet potato puree (I made my own by steaming sweet potato pieces for about 15 minutes, draining it well, blitzing it and leaving to cool)

10g maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla

Serving suggestions: maple syrup, bananas, ice cream, golden syrup, whatever you fancy!

Method:

  • Put your waffle iron on to heat – mine has a temperature gauge, which I set to ‘dark’ (scarier than it sounds, it didn’t make my waffles burn!)
  • Start by mixing together the milk and apple cider vinegar in a cereal-sized bowl, set aside.
  • Sieve the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg together into a large bowl.
  • Mix in the oats, flaxseed and a pinch of salt.
  • In a medium bowl, mix together the sweet potato, melted oil, maple syrup and vanilla.
  • Pour the milk-vinegar mix into the sweet potato mix. At this point I ping this in the microwave for 20 seconds just in case the milk is a little bit cold and it’ll cause the oil to re-solidify (obviously make sure your mix is in a microwavable bowl!) Mix well.p1040250
  • Pour the wet mixture into the flour mixture.
  • Fold in well, making sure there are no pockets of flour.
  • The mixture will resemble a gloopy carrot cake mixture, it’s relatively thick.p1040256
  • Make your waffles according to your waffle maker instructions. This recipe makes 6.p1040232.

NOTES:  I put my waffle iron up to ‘dark’ (ie. high), I spray it with coconut oil (the instructions tells me to) and then I use a big plastic spoon to dump some mixture into the centre of each waffle plate and then just put down the lid and it spreads itself (it often doesn’t spread into 1 little square or so, but if you want them perfect, you can spread it with a plastic spatula or something yourself, I just worry that means the iron will cool too much while I’m faffing). My waffle iron says they should be ready after 5 mins, but these took more like 10 and I flipped them over after about 7 to make sure they’re evenly cooked.p1040308

Leave a Reply

