RECIPE: Pumpkin spiced doughnuts

These are ‘cake doughnuts’, baked and yeast-free; I didn’t actually know there were more types of doughnut other than just ‘doughnut’ but then I’d never Googled doughnuts before. However, with my multiple types of doughnut realisation also came the realisation that I don’t actually really know what I want in a doughnut; fluffy, dense, thin, thick, sugary, iced, spongey… the list of doughnut related adjectives goes on… Unhelpfully my husband also has no idea what he wants in a doughnut – but I suppose that means we can never be disappointed! Given I haven’t eaten a ‘normal’ doughnut in a long time, I’m just going to pretend this recipe is what all doughnuts should be – moist, but a bit puffy and springy and not too sweet because of the spice.  This is probably my 7th or so batch of pumpkin doughnuts in the last couple of months, so the time has come to post it before we both get sick of me baking the same thing again and again and then demanding we compare and contrast its relative merits compared to the other batches (though the other week we used them to make ice cream sandwiches using my chocolate orange ice cream, which was awesome). I hope you like them!


Recipe

Makes 6 doughnuts, requires a doughnut pan (I have this one)

Ingredients

60g soya or other dairy-free milk, room temperature (as I explained in my last post, my ml measurement on my scales seems off, but a gram is a gram, so this seems more reliable)

½ tsp apple cider vinegar

100g dairy-free plain yoghurt (I’ve been using Tesco own brand plain soya yogurt)

75g pumpkin puree (make my own by roasting a pumpkin then blitzing the flesh)

45g muscovado sugar

1 tbsp maple syrup (I buy mine off Amazon if you’re thinking it’s way too expensive in England!)

2 tbsp oil (I used rapeseed)

1 tsp vanilla

1 ½ tsp baking powder

110g plain gluten-free flour (I use Dove’s Farm)

1 tsp cinnamon

¾ tsp ginger

¼ tsp nutmeg

Pinch of salt

For the cinnamon sugar coating (optional):

20g caster sugar

½ tsp cinnamon

Method

  • Mix the dairy-free milk and vinegar together in a little bowl and set aside so it curdles.
  • Put the oven on 220C, 200C (fan)
  • Mix the wet ingredients together well in a cereal-size bowl (Pumpkin, yogurt, sugar, maple syrup, oil and vanilla)
  • Into a large bowl sieve the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg) and stir in the pinch of salt.
  • Mix the milk-vinegar into the other wet ingredients.
  • Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and gently fold together (don’t overmix).
  • The consistency should be like a runny cake batter.
  • Spoon the batter into your doughnut pan, making sure the centre bar stays clean (or get it dirty, but then wipe off the batter).
  • Bake for about 11 minutes – they should be risen and springy to the touch.
  • Take out and leave to cool in the tin for a few minutes then turn them out onto a wire rack (I usually go around the outside of each doughnut with a spatula and then pull them out with my hands).p1040618
  • Mix the caster sugar and cinnamon together in a zip lock bag and put the doughnuts in one at a time (while they’re still warm) and give them a bit of a shake around to coat them.
  • Best eaten straight away, but if you don’t coat them they do keep OK in an air-tight container for a day, they just get a little bit chewier. Un-iced/coated doughnuts are apparently fine to freeze too, though I’ve never done this because I just eat them.p1040626
Leave a Reply

